Recovery from SAH

Hi all, I am new to all this, however need some advise. over 8 weeks ago my dad suffered a SAH and has been through so much in critical care from coiling and various operations to 6 weeks on high dependancy and having a shunt fitted which did improve him.

He is now in a stroke rehabilitation hospital and the realisation is starting to set in for him. he's still got an NG feeding tube in although they are introducing soft normal food options which he is refusing to eat some of the time.

They are starting pyhsio and occupational therapy with him, but yesterday he refused that. when we went to see him he said he was depressed and we can totally see that which is heart breaking. I need some advise as to what we can do to help this. he so so wants to try and walk but at the moment the physios are focusing on sitting balance.

I think as he has so much time sat in hospital this is too much thinking time between my mum my brother myself and his friends. we visit 4 hours each day which is what we are allowed but I am concerned the rest of the time he gets very little interaction any advice would help thanks.

Edited by Karen
Punctuation and line spacing inserted

Hi jump. Sorry to hear about your Dad. There's a few recent threads of members who are going through similar so worth reading those as there is some good advice in those about eating and taking things slow but it's still hard on the patient,Dad, and you all.

It's easy to get fed up and down during a prolonged stay in hospital and as the realisation starts to come that life's changed forever but keep reassuring Dad that improvement will come just maybe not at the pace he wants. Think about what you can leave with him that he can use to keep himself occupied and pass the time when he is awake.