Anti- seizure medication-???-UK

As I have posted previously I am having my 2 annies clipped at the end of the month.

One of my biggest fears is developing epilepsy due to.the massive impact it would have on.my life,  not being able to drive,  ferry the kids about etc plus I am a community nurse so rely on my car for my job.

I did ask the surgeon but he said anti- seizure medication would not be prescribed and the risk especially with unruptured aneurysms is relatively low.

I have noticed that on the American forums people seem to be routinely prescribed anti seizure meds following a clipping surgery. I just wondered why the practice is so different here - I'm sure I would feel safer with them. 

Hi Boozy Suzi,

If you do not need them, why take them ?  I have had Epilepsy since puberty and Epilepsy started then at 14,  but oldun now.

I went ages without them and was thinking hmm I reckon they are leaving me.  Then Docs messed around with pills and I had 1 after 6/7 years of being seizure free.  Calls Epilepsy a few choice names lol xx 

So try not to worry just yet over Epilepsy as the more you stress etc !!!   Get op over and done with and then take it from there.

Be Well (and easy for me to type) No Stress and just take one step at a time.

Love

Win xxxx

• Like 1

Hi Suzi,

I was on anti seizure meds for some months after my SAH and I can only speak from my own experience.

I can only say that the side effects for me, were terrible and I was glad when I could withdraw from them and that process took quite some months and I felt pretty rough to say the least, as the withdrawal was worse than taking them and it was probably the toughest time in my life.

I couldn't have carried out any work when I was on them or when I was withdrawing from them....so I'm a little bit biased and can't understand why you would feel safer on them?