Advice on retiring needed!

Hi Everyone, I haven’t posted for a while. I hope everyone is well and looking forward to Santa coming soon! 

I had a subarachnoid haemorrhage in May of 2015. I have made a fairly good recovery and returned to work part time just about a year later.  

I work as a midwife, busy, stressful and high intensity. I did have neuropsychological testing done before returning to work as this was supposed to ‘help’ my employer. 

I have found my GP practice to be very supportive, Occupational Health less so and in general the NHS very unsupportive. 

I have more mild physical issues and some issues with executive function. I didn’t return to my previous post but a post in a similar area , but I had disparaging comments and threats and was off then relocated to another area. Again- reasonable adjustments- working half days - due to chronic fatigue and being allowed to have my phone in my pocket as I use it for my diary and reminders etc.

Again, more disparaging comments, lack of insight, lack of compassion and a general sort of bully boy type atmosphere because I am not as 100% as everybody else. 

Since returning to work in May 2016 this is the 3rd time I have taken sick leave due to work related stress! 

Obviously this doesn’t help me in the slightest bit. I just wondered if any of you had similar issues and what you did about them? It is a constant round of meetings with HR and management at the minute.

I am at the end of my tether and I hope someone might be able to give me some advice. What has happened with anyone applying for retirement on ill health grounds? I am considering asking my GP about this . 

Kind regards everyone, 

Issy xx 

Hi Issy

Im sorry your having so much trouble with others who don't understand could you contact the nursing council and union for some on going support  before you make that choice.