Alexander64 - Recent SAH

alexander64

Hi

My story seems pretty similar to many posted here and great to read so many fantastic recoveries.

My Valentines day began at 730AM chairing a rare cancer meeting (i am a surgeon) when i suddenly experienced a headache so severe i collapsed. As i was in the hospital the arrest team arrived immediately thinking i had had a cardiac arrest.

I soon found myself in the CT scanner with a diagnosis of SAH

The NHS stroke system was faultless and i was soon in a bluelight ambulance heading to the neurosurgeons

A repeat CT followed by a angiogram (under general anaesthetic as i have seen enough local cases to know what i wanted!) thankfully showed no source of bleeding

The headache after the angio was worse than the original bleed and felt as if my head was in a vice not to mention the pain from the angio in my groin.

By the next day i was moved from intensive care to the ward and my headaches were already improving although i started getting severe pain in my back and legs due to blood in my csf

After 12 days in hospital i am now home and finally starting to walk as the pain recedes, although i am now on Gabapentin. To be honest i feel a bit dissociated/numb and i simply cannot sleep no matter what i do.

I dont feel that i can complain about my state as my care has been excellent and reading the posts here many people have had a much worse outcome than me

Any advice on sleeping gratefully accepted

Hey Alex, thanks for posting here as well. Your story and thread  will Help some other person especially if you don’t mind coming back from time to time and sharing what you learn and what has helped you as you navigate this time in your life. 

Fab you got such such great treatment from your colleagues, I imagine it was a great shock to them. Yes angios awake not that fun so probably good decision there.