Frustrated newbie - Monique

Mon

Hello, my name is Monique and I had a nightmare migraine on xmas day and woke up just after new year in hospital. I had 2 aneurysm, and clipping procedure (sorry I dont have my discharge summary and can not remember the medical terms) 

I have a family history of aneurysms. One killed my mother when she was 48. I turned 45 just 2 days prior to xmas.

I am (was) a fit and healthy mother of 3 boys. I worked full time as a care giver. I never get sick, cant ever remember staying in bed all day and I'm finding the boredom is making me depressed. I just dont know what to do with myself. 

I generally feel tired all day but unable to sleep at night ( I used to sleep well ) I think I'm lucky if I'm even getting 4 hours sleep a night.

Will this go away? Will I get stronger? Can i do any thing to improve my energy levels?

Welcome to BTG Mon

Although we are unable to give medical advice as we are not medically qualified we can support you in your recovery journey.

Try to have a nap during the day which may help you sleep at night, fatigue is a well documented after effect of an SAH. Drink plenty of water to keep you well hydrated. If you feel able, take a short walk during the day. Apart from breaking the day up and you getting some fresh air, it may also help with your sleep and boredom. 

It is a long road to recovery for most, your brain has had an onslaught and needs time to heal which varies from person to person.

Do you read, if so, try audio books, even though you may be only able to manage a couple of pages at a time. Try to pursue any hobbies you may have but doing little at a time. I used to try to complete puzzles in puzzle books although not very successfully at first. Do not push yourself, get your boys to help with tasks around the house.

I'm afraid that it means taking baby steps at first, do not push yourself or you will find yourself going backwards.

Hi Monique,