Hannah Woodward UNIVERSITY STUDENT

hannahw

Hi All,

I have had alot of experience of strokes over the past few years with family members, which has started my interest in research in this area. I am currently a third year Psychology student at the University of Gloucestershire who is undergoing a dissertation project. For this I have decided to focus on how stroke patients are viewed by carers and how this may influence the types of care given. For this I am looking for volunteers who are non NHS, professional carers (Not relatives) who would be willing to take part in a short 1 hour interview on this topic. I am hugely greatful to anyone that would like to be involved or could pass this message on to people they think would like to be involved. If anyone would like more information about getting involved please contact me.

Have a great day

Good Day Hannah

Firstly hope you doing well with your course. Your dissertation, or research project, is probably the single most important assignment you will undertake whilst at university.

A few more people like yourself would help the Stroke Service.

It's obvious that you are keen to do this, as you've posted in many Stroke Forums

However, as a long term Stroke Survivor, and Volunteer with my Local Stroke Service, I feel you will NOT get a true feed back from Professional Carers.

Although, I class any Spouse, Full time Carer, or Family Member, as an unpaid Professional.

They save the government Thousands of Pounds yearly. That's another issue!!

A Professional Carer, as in those that supply this service as a profession. Either through Social Services, NHS or Private Source are governed by time scales and budgets.

They spend only allocated time with the Stroke Survivor.

In turn not getting, a full picture of the situation.

Some, but not many, do specialize in Stroke Care, but they are few and far between.

Some only know what they have been told we feel like, mind you most Doctors are the same.