Dad

tulip24

Hi all,

I'm so glad to have found this website.

My Dad had a massive SAH two weeks ago on the 28th March. Prior to this he was already in a wheelchair as he has a muscle wasting disease.

All his life he has been active, having been a member of the Royal Air force for nearly 20 years & was a member of the mountain rescue team for 25 years. He was already finding it hard to cope with being immobile.

When it happened he was trying to transfer out of his wheelchair when he had a massive headache and asked my mum to call the ambulance. When I got to the hospital he was being sick, but was still awake. He was given some painkillers & then started dozing off. Mum & I weren't for concerned at the time as Dad sometimes has periods where he is overcome with tiredness due to his condition. So we just let him sleep. I had no idea- I'm a nurse, so feel I've failed him in some way.

The Dr eventually saw him & sent him for a CT scan straightaway. Next thing we knew he was taken into resus & was then transferred by blue light to Sheffield.

He has been on ICU ever since.

The first night he was given a 15-20% chance of survival. They put a drain in.

Then his heart stopped. A few days later his kidneys stopped working.

They have been having problems keeping his blood pressure stable.

On Monday they coiled the aneyursm as he has been too unwell up to that point.

Yesterday we went to see him & were so happy that he seemed to be bright, responding to us even though he's still on the ventilator.

Then today we went, to find they had replaced the drain because it had blocked causing fluid to build up. He seemed so flat & looked so unhappy. Hardly moving. They are now talking about a tracheostomy.

We spoke to the Dr who said he is still critical.That it's a waiting game. It's been two weeks he's been on critical care. Yesterday we felt so optimistic. Now, I am so scared of the outcome. My Dad has always said "never let me get like that".