Being useful...

Guest Samijoliz

Guest Samijoliz

Hi all,

I'm a newbie. Thanks to the creators of this site, it's truly a blessing. Thanks to all of the welcoming folk over there across the pond as well. :wink:

Have any of you ever felt like, since your stroke, that you couldn't contribute as much to society anymore? Like you were worth less because you couldn't get out and do the things you used to do? Maybe it was a job you loved, or caring for your kids, or even going out with your friends...

I've felt like that over the past few months, and I'm looking for ways to stay involved. I kind of fear for my relationships of all kinds, because I'm homebound so much. I wonder if I'll ever find a romantic partner, me being so young and not always able to do much. It seems that here in the DC area, many of the youngsters are of that set that makes a lot of money and moves very fast through life. My friends are traveling and starting businesses...and I'm at home when I'm not at work. I just put school on hold for another eight weeks, hoping that I'll have the energy to do it. I've had to wait this long to go back, I want to keep my GPA where it is. Before college, I hadn't had an "A" average since the 1st grade.

Well, I'm happy today, because God has given me yet another way to be useful. I have been trying to get inovlved with a local juvenile detention center...they need tutors and mentors and stuff like that. Well, that can't wear me out too much...at least I hope not. My clearance paperwork just went through, so hopefully in a month or two I'll be able to help there.

I just hate feeling so useless sometimes...ya know?