My first day back to work.

After a lousy nights sleep, only 3 hours, I get up excited and a little anxious about going back to work as a teaching assistant. My surgery was 16 weeks ago now and with advise from my surgeon off I go.

The first day back at school is always manic, greeting all my work friends was emotional and trying to learn even a few of the children's names in my class was difficult to say the least. My teacher, Duncan, has been a star today, I have never worked with him before but he was understanding and didn't put on me too much, thank goodness.

10 o'clock brought the T.A meeting and to be honest I sat there feeling like I was there but not really there, kind of looking down on them all. When I did speak it was to ask people to please ignore my grimaces when my nerve pain kicks in as it soon dissipates, this was greeted with a lot of jokes, which before would never of bothered me (we do banter quite a bit) but today felt really hurtful. I am so sensitive nowadays :rolleyes5: All morning I had to fight back the tears, but I'm not sure why, I wasn't sad but they weren't tears of happiness either, just emotional I guess.

After the meeting it was assembly time, another fight of the tears, and then break time. Boy, was it noisy in the staff room, everyone catching up with everyone else. This is usually my favourite part of my first day, but to be honest again I just sat there and listened and fought the urge not to cover my ears, lol. Might of appeared rude :wink: