My first ever forum - Mum of five

Mum of five

Hi I'm new to all this (not that you would ever know!) I'm a forty two year old mum of five beautiful boys, who like the other members of this most exclusive club had my world turned upside down last December. I suffered a SAH whilst at work which was misdiagnosed for nearly five days ( I was told I had sinusitis despite displaying classic signs of a haemorrhage the first time and informed that although I couldn't walk, open my eyes etc and was slipping in and out of consciousness that it was a virus the second time) but I finally accessed the right people, my bleed was from a large irregular shaped aneurysm which unfortunately affected both of my frontal lobes. I spent the whole of Christmas in hospital only seeing my children twice which was very hard.

I am a bit of a stubborn old mule so don't really do resting or taking it easy even now I still think i can keep going at the same pace but as I suspect you can all guess ........I can't. This I find extremely frustrating although I know I have to accept the " new " me I worry that if I do I will never get it back. I'm not angry, frustrated, bitter or even excessively emotional I think I'm just numb.........

I suffer from the usual exhaustion, balance and co ordination issues, my fine motor skills have deserted me like tying laces or doing the zips on my little ones coat, I have zero memory sometimes asking the same question three of four times as I can't remember a) asking it or B) the answer and I get severe shakes/ shut down when my brain can't cope. In short I'm a walking (sometimes even that's wonky) advert for Branson - my brain is pickled