Introducing Kristi G

Kristi G.

Since I'm definitely a newbie, I thought this would be the best place to jump in, and I'll apologize in advance if I'm wordy... I'm a writer by trade.  I'm also curious to know if others had symptoms for ten days before hospital admission, like I did.  

In the Beginning:

On August 6th, I was out delivering groceries (my fun part-time job) late at night during a terrible Texas electrical storm when I got slammed with the first horrible thunderclap headache, no pun intended, centered at the base of my neck after I bent over with a large holder full of bags.  I figured I pulled a muscle and since I was also under great stress for several reasons, I just assumed it happened to be coupled with a terrible migraine even though I haven't had one in several years.  I managed to get home safely and waited for the pounding to stop, which it did.   

I stayed off work for a couple of days although I never felt quite right and upon my return to grocery shopping, had another bad headache on another delivery.  I'd erroneously begun to believe that maybe I had sinusitis since my face and behind my eyes ached.  Unfortunately,  my primary care clinic decided not to take my insurance in June, so I (dumbly) decided I'd wait until the following week to seek treatment after returning from an out-of-town trip for my primary job as a published author--giving a writer's workshop.  

When I had yet another migraine that evening, I knew something was terribly wrong, but of course enjoyed the beach an extra day (note profile photo) before returning home.  That night, another, more intense thunderclap headache hit me and I begged my fiancee to take me to the hospital.  Imagine my shock when I learned they detected a small SAH after I had two CTs, one enhanced, and an MRA.  Imagine my surprise when I was told they didn't find an aneurysm, had no idea exactly when the bleed began, and couldn't say what caused it.  

In the Aftermath.: