My Stroke Story

rprice38

Hi

I had a stroke in November 2011. I am a teacher and I went to work like any other day. I was in the middle of my lesson when I suddenly felt my arm go floppy and heavy. I tried to get up but couldn't walk. I didn't really want to let the students know what had happened so I emailed the school nurse with a HELP! Please come quickly. Luckily she was in her room and she came within 5 minutes. When I explained what had happened, she knew it was a stroke and phoned for the ambulance. She arranged for my students to go on a break and waited with me until the ambulance arrived. I have never felt so undignified being carried out of my workplace on a stretcher. I could see students in all the windows looking to see what was going on. At the hospital I had a CT scan and was taken to a stroke unit where they took me into a special room called the thromolysis room. They gave me a piece of paper to read which was something to do with having an injection to clear the clot. I couldn't take it all in and didn't really understand what I was giving consent to. Luckily, my neurologist arrived and made the decision not to thrombolyse. (I have a neurologist because I suffered a previous stroke in 2003 which just affected my peripheral vision but I didn't go to hospital or take time off work)

Anyway back to the recent stroke - I spent 4 days in a stroke unit and worked with a physio to work on my arm. It was when went home that I started to realise that the arm was the least of my worries. I was tired all the time and found that my memory and concentration were poor. I saw an occupational health advisor and she helped me to develop strategies to cope with the mental difficulties. I have found lists very useful and in the beginning had a notepad which I carried everywhere to write down what task I was doing otherwise, I would forget and start something else!