Cognitive improvement

I've been attending a group recently which is intended to help me learn ways to continue to improve my cognitive deficits so I thought I would share what I have learnt and add more each week as I get tips.

Perhaps others could add what helped them to improve as well.

Background: I found that when I came out of hospital that physically I couldn't do what I wanted to do. I understood that, it made sense to me. It was only later as my physical wounds healed and the pain abated a little that the curtain pulled back fully to reveal that I had been left with some cognitive changes.

A different version of me. Not to be unexpected I suppose but still shocking and quite hard to come to an acceptance of. Hard to deal with as I couldn't just slip back into my normal life, my way of working, my way of being, so I started learning about what I could do and slowly things are changing but the dreaded tiredness always takes its toll so it's a long business.

So what are my cognitive changes?

A reduced level of Attention and concentration

Slower mental processing

Decreased ability to take decisions

Poor short term memory

Loss of words when tired

Visual Challenges especially crazy patterns:shock:

Not good when you did what I did for a job, I'm sure many others have the same challenges.

According to the professionals running the group i am attending , 46% of people are left with a cognitive impairment after surviving their SAH but because it's different to other strokes it doesn't affect specific brain areas which is why it's a bit tricky to pinpoint.

Attention problems

Splitting my attention acoss two or more things is probably the most difficult for me and I have now find myself becoming an expert ' uni- tasker' .

No longer do I try and do two things at once. I have now learnt that this is considered a good recovery method especially for the early days post SAH.