Headaches after SAH

Hi I am new to this my husband suffered a SAH 3 weeks ago ago and thankfully so far everything seems to be okay other than the headaches. He is still on his nimodopine every 4 hours. My question is how long is it to be expected that he will keep getting headaches. Took him to the docs today and he has now being given amytriptyline for the pain.

Thank you. 

Welcome to BTG.

As for asking how long the headaches will last is like asking how long is a piece of string. Everyone's recovery is at a different rate, may be weeks, months or years. Recovery is an individual thing.

A way to alleviate or diminish headaches from a SAH is to drink lots of water to keep well hydrated. This really does work.

Hello and also a warm welcome to BTG.

So sorry to hear that your husband recently suffered from a SAH.

While we do not provide medical advice, you will find much help and support from the members of BTG and from reading the personal recovery experiences within the various Forums.

It is very early in your husband`s recovery and during those first few weeks and months, the extent of any post SAH issues start to become apparent. This will depend on the severity and positioning of the bleed. As you read the Forums you will discover that there are other side effects such as fatigue, memory loss, personality issues and low tolerance threshold. Please be aware that should he display some of these, time and patience are so important to ensure a best outcome.

SAH recovery is likely to have many challenges and few survivors make a complete recovery.

You mention headaches, and by coincidence, the Forum below this one has a current discussion on the subject which I am sure you will find helpful.

http://web.behindthegray.net/topic/7185-headaches-and-nasah/?tab=comments#comment-129762

Please ensure that you also have plenty rest and support as you take care of your husband in these early months 

Subs