Hi all

How many in this group are medical professionals?

My question is

Are there any particular problems faced by doctors with SAH when returning back to work?

I am a neonatologist,  a baby doctor. I don't seem to remember faces of patients who I met for the first time, in the time period of about 4 to 5 months prior to SAH. My memory was excellent earlier. 

Hi

welcome to BTG glad you found us. 

I work in the NHS and too suffered an NASAH just over 4 years ago. 

My memory of events a few weeks prior to my bleed are sketchy and I too had an excellent memory pre event. 

I sometimes struggle now to remember patients names though I recognise their faces. I have been told by my neuropsychologist that I have problems with attention caused by the bleed.

I can be with a patient through a consultation, leave them for 20 mins then when I meet again I can’t remember their name. 

I am still learning strategies now to overcome my memory deficits. Writing everything down and using prompts. 

Its a  long road but gets better with time. 

Good luck. 

Clare xx

You aren't alone, there is always someone here on BTG who will be happy to offer support. Be good to hear more about you and your event, feel free to post in the Introduction section with your story.

This site has been a godsend to me since my bleed so it's nice to be able to give back.

Take good care 

Clare xx

Hi Ami

clare gives some good advice and any neuropsychologist will tell you that the effect of blood across the surface of the brain has a very different impact on short term memory than say a traditional stroke. You may find that you can’t retain the new memory in the same way to previously and so have to do things differently to be able to retain And keep facts and information but more importantly to retrieve the memory is a little broken/ corrupted.