Introduction to Mags, Hayling Island, UK

mshawx_head

Hello fellow sufferers,

Amazingly, I found this site really quickly after my SAH - so here is my introduction and the background to my "event".

I live on the south coast in the UK at a place called Hayling Island. I'm a keen road cyclist and like to try and keep myself reasonably fit, at an age when too many give up. I work full time in the IT industry and have certainly struggled to balance the demands of my job, on my time, with the need to keep myself reasonably fit - which I know I need to function properly. I'm married to husband Neil, who 6 years ago contracted Meningitis, so I have a partner who understands (possibly better than I do at the moment !) what its like to go through a "head problem" and has been a great support. He also probably knows me better than I do myself !

I had a NASAH on 14th August 2011. I was out on my road bicycle, and I remember thinking just before it happened, how well I was going that afternoon, when - WHAM !! Suddenly I had the most intense headache, I'd ever had. My first thought was de-hydration. It was a warm day and I'd been active all morning in the sunshine. I stopped, drank some water, poured some over my head, but it made absolutely no difference. In fact I was feeling worse - this was not dehydration. I got back on my bike and started cycling back home. After 10 minutes or so, I thought, "I really can't do this", got off and sat by the side of the road. I phoned my hubby who came and picked me up and took me home.