Things that have helped

One of the things that's helped me to adjust is seeing a neuropsychologist. Since I am a therapist, I never envisioned myself needing to see a therapist myself because I seemed to be able to use many tools to change behaviors, deal with stress, or navigate through daily life. However, when my SAH hit the scene, there were so many issues that weren't ordinary/usual to me and too much for me to handle all at once on my own. A neuropsychologist is different than a plain psychologist (although many may need this too) in that they don't spend 1/2 the time trying to come up with a diagnoses for you like depression/OCD or the like and yet they understand better than most about your issues. It also has taken some of a burden off both myself and my husbands' thinking of "How do we deal with this one?" There is an outside person to consult as strange happenings/feelings arise.

On the other hand, I got testing done (by a different neuropsychologist) and actually do not recommend it until you've gotten at least a year under your belt. I took my testing at about 4 months and it was stressful and the results indicated that I had deficits...NO KIDDING.

I'm 9 months now and wouldn't even do it today. However, a website that works on all areas of cognition is helping me to improve my cognitive functioning.

What have you found to be helpful along the way?

~Kris

My Family helped me Kris....as it took a long while for me to get help....when I was in cuckooland I remember my daughter

making me do exercise on hands...I thought she was still my little baby so I played along with her...and when I went through

automatic doors I used to say "Open Sesame" to make my baby laugh...lol bet I was a pain....but without my families

backing...I honestly do not think I'd have made it...and that is sad really !