Hi - New member Jan.

Jan p

Hi, my name is Jan,

I had a cerebral haemorrhage on 24/4/2014 , it was a bleed from a VEIN NOT AN ARTERY . I was told that it was" just one of those things" that happens, and I am no more likely to have another one than a person who has never had one ). It required NO treatment apart from bed rest for a couple of days on the neurosurgery HDU, then a further 6 days on the neuro ward. I am a nurse who retired from the NHS last June, aged 55, so a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing !

I appreciate that I have been very lucky! But it has scared me. The thing is I can not seem to find much information about my type of bleed or the residual symptoms I have been left with ( particularly lower back/ leg spasm type pain )

Jan

Edited by Tina
Name added to title :)

Hi Jan :)

A very warm welcome to BTG !

Not surprising it has scared you, especially being a nurse and knowing how serious a bleed is bless you xx

The symptoms you mention ( particularly lower back/ leg spasm type pain ) I also had in the early stages...my Consultant said it was the blood dispersing down the spine and causing the pain.

It was painful for quite some time. You are still very early in your recovery. I would definitely mention to your Doctor and get checked to be on the safe side.

You will find lots of helpful information and support here on the Forum.

We can't help with medical advice but can certainly let you know our experiences :)

Wishing you well and look forward to hearing more from you xx

Edited by Tina

Hi Jan,

My bleed was not from a major artery either. Mine was an unknown source and believe it to be a venous bleed. Since mine was non aneurysmal they consider it a NASAH, which simply is a non aneurysmal subarachnoid hemorrhage. Many on the site have had a bleed similar to yours.