Constant unrelenting pain after sah

Hello everyone, I am new to this great site and am  just wondering if anyone has experienced constant unrelenting pain after an SaH?

My brother who is 56 went to bed last Sunday night and felt an explosion in his head. He had a significant bleed but didn't pass out and the scans and initial angiogram haven't detected a cause as yet. However despite a variety of pain medication over the past few days he is in total agony and finds it very difficult to sleep.

He was amazed when his consultant said he was very happy with his progress and that things seemed normal! My brother wonders how this  can be normal with the continuous worst pain he had ever experienced in his life? Has anyone else experienced such unrelenting pain in the first week after an SaH?

This has been such a shock to all the family and we are so worried about Bob's constant pain. Even morphine didn't touch it!! Any comments or advice which I could pass on to Bob would be so welcome. Thank you

• Like 1

Hi Jackie,

Welcome to BTG.  So sorry your brother is in so much pain and that the painkillers are not being effective.

It's the blood from the bleed that is irritating the brain and therefore causing the pain and this takes time to disperse - several weeks unfortunately.  Hopefully your brother's pain will lessen over this time. My pain was controlled, more or less by the medication, but I did take them regularly for a  couple of months at least. I know some people continue with pain for many months after the event, but not as bad as those first few weeks.

I'm sure you've probably read on this site that drinking plenty of water also helps with the head pain, so make sure your brother is doing this.

Sorry I can't offer any other advice, but I do hope it improves soon as it's not nice being in so much pain and not being able to sleep. 

I wish you both all the best,

Sarah

• Like 5