Diane b - NASAH

Hi there,

I am also so glad to have found this forum!  

I am a 55-year old fit female with no health conditions and great blood pressure, and had a NASAH on 9/26/19.   I was driving over the Bay Bridge in San Francisco (literally going through the toll booth) when I had the thunderclap headache and terrible stiffness in my neck and some numbness in my hands.  

I managed to call emergency services and an ambulance met me on the other side of the bridge and took me to the ER, where they put me on the CT and told me I was bleeding in my brain.  

As others, my CT scan, MRI and angiogram showed no aneurysm--I was in the hospital for 8 days on the Nimodopine regimen and an angiogram at 8 day mark was clear and I was sent home with 2 weeks off work, which was not enough time (I suspect I would have been put off longer if I lived in the EU).  

I am a public agency attorney and my work load is quite heavy, so going back into the stress of that environment so quickly with 10 hour days was difficult.

In addition, I have a lot of stress at home as I have a son on the autism spectrum with mental health issues, and a daughter with a mood disorder.  

Since the NASAH, if I try to drink any alcohol socially I feel awful and the headaches intensify.  I feel like I need 10 hours of sleep a night to feel good.  I feel lucky to be alive and have the same anxiety expressed by others here that I will have a re-bleed, although I was also told that the chance of that is slim to none.  

Not knowing the source of the bleed or why it happened is difficult for me, as I feel like there must be an answer.  I do wonder if inflammation in the body and brain can be a factor in causing vessels to leak.  

The neurologists at the hospital said stress was not a factor, but the nurses said otherwise--the hospital where I stayed is in Silicon Valley and the nurses said they were seeing an uptick in NASAH in younger people who had large amounts of stress.