Forever Ill!

Is it normal to pick up every virus going after suffering an SAH? Would it have affected my immune system that much.

Im a teacher and I do come into contact with a lot of germs but since returning to work in September I have been unable to shake off a nasty cold and cough virus. I begin to get better and it returns only to enhance my feelings of tiredness. I used to be quite healthy and rarely missed work. Feeling a bit selfish now, as I know how lucky I am to be able to return to work after such a major illness but...........

I suppose I just want to be reassured that I will get stronger over time. But no one can really guarantee that. I will know myself in time!

Feeling frustrated!

Hi Shellie,

I didn't come round properly until I had a shunt fitted. 

The last thing I remember was cooking a curry for hubby he brought in the wine and I 

never got to have a glass.

A year later they fitted my shunt, all was well apart from odd cold and being told I'd never 

walk again, well I am walking short walks, a big fat bot sticks out as I waddle along but to

be honest every day gets better for me.

So never give up hope you will get there, it's a long haul but together we can do it.

Good luck and welcome to BTG.

All the Best

Win xx

• Like 1

I suggest you see your doctor as some bugs appear to go away then rebound which is what appears could be happening to you. These types of bugs often need a helping hand to send them on their way permanently if treatment is appropriate.

I used to work in a school and my resistance was and still is quite hardy, no change at all.

Thanks all......I have taken a day off of work. I feel a bit guilty but the consultant told me to listen to my body and that's what I'm doing. We all know that health has to come first.

Will make a doctors appointment in the Christmas holidays. Maybe a blood test is needed. I know plavix can cause anaemia in some people. Best get that checked out.