Advice - not sure what to do

Perhap you can help -

I am a manager for a Behaviour Support Service in a Local Education Authority. I was keen to return to work 6 months after my SAH and couldnt wait to see people again and to have some sort of normality back in my life but after going back for a couple of half days a week, I'm not so sure it is what I want to do or if I want to be there, I really couldnt give a monkies about what is happening and look forward to coming home again, I have always worked and given it my all, working long hours and having sleepless nights about it! My husband thinks I should push for ill health retirement and then do something completely different. I still get tired. What do you think?

Thanks

Caroline

Guest Beth1957

That sounds like a very challenging job, and one you really need to feel fully committed to, and to enjoy, to get any job satisfaction out of (if you see what I mean!). And you certainly don't sound like the sort of person who will be happy giving less than your all to a job...

I think medical retirement is well worth looking into. I took it a few years ago from the Civil Service and found that by the time I took my traveling expenses, lunch etc into account I was very little worse off financially.

Have you any definite idea of what you would like to do instead, though? Like you, I'd always worked, and suddenly not working (once the novelty wears off :wink:) can be very isolating.

Caroline, I know that I tend to go with my gut feeling now, as it normally turns out to be the right one ...... if you were happy doing your job, then you wouldn't be questioning it and yes, after a SAH, your priorities do change ..... Do what makes you feel happy in your heart Caroline and your husband is obviously supportive, which is great.

If you need to move on, then do it ...... just see it as a new chapter in your life .... when one door closes, another door opens.... :)

Good luck Caroline! :)

hi caroline