Introducing myself - Jane

Jane L

Hi

My SAH was on 28 July just as I'd arrived at work (having been driving just a few minutes earlier). I had coiling and stayed in hospital for 2 weeks.

Luckily, I had no right or left side weaknesses and initially I thought no cognitive problems either. I've since realised my already bad memory is even worse and multi-tasking is at least for now, a thing of the past. I suppose, so soon into this process, I need to wait and see what improves.

Like others I've read about on here, I've gotten tearful over the last couple of weeks and will be asking my GP about counselling. I worked as a counseller myself in the past, so know it will help just to have someone outside the family/friend network to go and shout at and cry on!

Jane

Hi Jane

A warm welcome to the site and you've already said it yourself it is very early on in your recovery so your emotions will be all over the place for a while yet. Short term memory problems and fatigue are very common in the early stages of recovery. Just remember be kind to yourself and rest as often as you need. It is very tempting to try to overdo things that usually results in a few bad days but at the same time we are only human so are very prone to pushing ourselves to the limit and beyond.

Take care and look forward to hearing more from you.