a couple of things

Hi. I had a NA SAH July 8. The doctors are thrilled at my recovery. I've stayed away from these boards for a few days because I thought maybe I didn't need to connect or because I thought I 'm not as ill as others. I don't really know. I do know that I am now an emotional basketcase....crying almost all the time, arguing with my husband and especially my daughter who has been a God-send thru this ordeal. Sometimes I think I'm lying to myself and everyone else about how well I'm doing. I'm scheduled to start back to work next Wednesday with 2 hours a day to start (I'm a nurse) and progress my time up from there back to full-time 11 hr shifts. I don't sleep well at night at all and wonder if this adds to how emotional I am. The headaches are better but the crying is definitely a trigger. I'm not sure what I'm asking here...maybe I just want reassurance that it will get better.

Thanks for letting me vent,

Shellie

Hi Shellie,

You are not an emotional basket case. You have just gone through & survived a SAH! It is traumatic for you and your family & it can take time to come to terms with everything that has happened even in the early days when a lot of us aren't always aware of what on earth just happened.

I know in the UK the 'standard' time off for recovery is 3 months, so it is quite quick for you to be going back to work. If you are having a hard time emotionally could you ask for more time off before you return to your job? For some people it can take a lot longer than this but others go back to work & do really well.

As it's been just over a month for you I'm pretty sure everyone on here will agree that, yes, things WILL get better. It just takes a bit of time.

Michelle