New Study on Non Aneurysmal SAH

http://jnnp.bmj.com/content/early/2011/04/06/jnnp.2010.239335.full

This study was just released last month. It investigates non aneurysmal SAH both short term and long term. The data includes and combined both perimesencephalic bleeds and diffuse patterns bleeds.

Some interesting things -

Known aneurysmal SAH has roughly a 50% mortality whereas non aneurysmal SAH has a mortality of about 4-10%

Rebleeding in aneurysmal patients carries a mortality of 50-70% whereas rebleeding in non aneurysmal patients is about 5-15%

For non aneurysmal patients, the rebleed risk after one year is less than 1%

Long term morbidity for aneurysmal patients is about 60-70% whereas non aneurysmal patients its about 15%

Mmm having read through it briefly - it would have held more ground with the statistics had it been a world wide study - it doesn't appear to have taken more than Finland and parts of the USA into account.

As a Social Scientist I always look for quantitive and qualititive statistics when reading reports where statistics seem to play a huge part.

yeah i guess one problem is there arent very many people who are angio negative so it makes large studies at a single institution over many years difficult. alot of data is pooled from other studies.

given the new technology in the last 10 years apparently fewer cases of angio negative are occuring, thus resulting in fewer missed aneurysms and therefore less rebleeding and mortality/morbidity.

Not sure I understood the brain jargon :oops:

Patients with anni bleed - long term survival rate 60-70%? Hope I mis-understood, that's a bit scary.......

I believe that figure stated differently is : Of all people who survive aneurysmal rupture, about 60-70% have long term morbidity and/or dont make complete recoveries.

Its kind of a broad term.

The figure of 50-70% is for people who have aneurysmal rupture and THEN rebleeding, the mortality upon rebleeding is 50-70%