SAH without an aneurysm

Guest Matthew

Guest Matthew

I'm a bit new to all this, although I had my own SAH on March 1st, 2007, so that's over a year ago now. I was out visiting clients (I'm a probate lawyer, ironically) when I had the headache come on from nowhere. One of my clients called an ambulance and off I was taken to the General Hospital in Southampton which is near where I live. Cut to being sick over my wife (who had been attending a post natal appointment with our then five week old elsewhere in the General) and a CT scan (which I vaguely remember) which revealed the bleed.

I was given a cerebral angiogram the next day. I was told beforehand how an aneurysm would be fixed so was a bit surprised when I came round to be told that they could not find anything. I then stayed in the hospital for a week, had a second cerebral angiogram, again which found nothing, and went home the next day, with the doctors telling me that I had been very lucky.

I had two months off work and then started back in the mornings in May, gradually working up my hours so that now I am back to full time again. When I started work again I found it impossible to multi task - I had to do file A then file B and so on. Any disruption and I went home in the afternoon to sleep. I also could not cope with loud noises or crowds of people.

Things have improved a great deal since then. I am allowed to drive again for one thing and I can deal with the interruptions on the telephone which seem to be part and parcel of my work. I still get tired, although I don't know whether that is the result of the heamorrhage, or our toddler son, or work, or a combination of all three. It's difficult to separate out the possible causes.

I go along to the support group meetings at the General, which I would recommend to all in the Southampton area, as they are a very good way of swapping stories and experiences. It is good to know that you are not alone.