Hello, Survivors! - Kath

savingthebrain

Gosh, I feel foolish for not seeing this thread and introducing myself in the "My Story" discussion. Anyway, here's what I wrote there:

----------

Unfortunately (or rather fortunately) I don't have a personal story to tell. Instead I'm a registered nurse working in a neuro ICU. We have a huge number of patients coming in for subarachnoid hemorrhage, and they stay with us for quite some time (usually 7-14 days) as we monitor them for cerebral vasospasms and other complications.

As our docs have always reminded us, the fatality rate for SAH is 50% So for those of you who survived and lived to tell the tale, you beat the odds! Congratulations!

----------

It's so good to see how people do after everything's resolved! We get very sick patients, and the moment they're better, they leave the ICU, get transferred, and we rarely see how they are in the end. Stories and wonderful outcomes are always so humbling and invigorating!

Edited by jess

Hey, great to have a nurse on board! I'm sure we'll keep you very busy here! I have a huge respect for ICU nurses; you really are something special.

After experiencing ill health (first and only time with my SAH!) I now understand that physical recovery is only part of the process, because our emotions are important too. So much goes on 'inside' after SAH, but good health is often measured with physical milestones only.

I found this site quite late in my recovery (around 6 months in.) I wish someone had told me about the site when I first left hospital because I felt quite isolated. I genuinely thought my fatigue and tiredness were 'failings' in me and many newbies to this site believe the same.

Thanks for taking an interest in us 'mentaloids' (as Skippy calls us!) Ha!

P.s Fantastic avatar, by the way!

Edited by Lin-lin

Hello Kath,