Hi New Here - laanka

laanka

Good Evening

I am new to all of this so please excuse any error or omission.Here is the story so far.I have been attending for a hormone imbalance for many years and at the last visit in April the consultant asked that I have an MRI to look at my pituitary area to exclude any growth .This was to be the final visit after many years if nothing showed at the Pituitary Gland.

Three weeks later I found myself crying in the garden having been sent a letter telling me that while I did have a small growth on the Pituitary Gland(not sinister) they had found an aneurysm and had referred me to the local Neurosurgeon.

I have to say I was distraught and went to see the GP(think it was a locum) who advised that I should not be concerned!!!!!! as lots of people have aneurysms .I asked about my BP and was told why check it it had been fine on last check.(I can`t remember when it had last been checked years rather than months).A three month wait followed then I was seen by one of the Neuro team and advised that because of my age they would recommend treatment but the decision would have to be mine.I asked about stats and risks and was given numbers figures which mean nothing really unless you are in the 95% that are okay.I was advised to have my blood pressure checked and treated if necessary! I reiterated the locums advice and this was dismissed as inappropriate.

Anyway I was advised I could talk with the Consultant Radiologist regarding the procedure and what was involved.It was another two months then I received a phone call with an appointment to meet with the Consultant .I have now met with this lovely man who took the time to talk through my scans pictures etc.He then again left the decision to me, it is so hard to decide however I don't think I can spend every day waiting to see if today is the day?