Newbie here! - Katie

Katie_Todd

Hi everyone!

God am I glad I've found a support group to help me with whats happend!

I've joined to gather information, read your stories, share mine (if you're interested :wink:) and hopefully make some new online friends.

I don't have anyone that I can speak to that actually understands what I'm talking about when it comes to the SAH, and as I don't have physical symptoms all the time people seem to think that everything is hunky dorey now... which it isn't! lol

I have my parents that offer support (my mum is a godsend! I'm sure I drive her crazy with my constantly asking questions about what happened while I was in hospital that first week, but I still can't get used to the fact that I've lost a week of my life), my partner and a friend that tries her hardest to understand things. I'm sure you will be aware how frustrating it is to find that what people can't see... they forget about or choose to ignore. I suppose ignorance really is bliss sometimes! :roll:

Anyway... I'm not really sure what else to say right now, but I'm sure I'll be a regular visitor to the site now that I know about it!

I hope to speak with some of you soon!

Katie x

Hi Katie and welcome to behindthegray :D

I'm sure many of us here have those feelings that because we have no physical symptoms, people think that we must be OK. I know I do, nearly 4 years on. It can be so frustrating at times. No one that hasn't suffered this can really know how we are feeling inside, but rest assured that we here know how you feel.

Look forward to hearing more from you.

Hi Kate

We definitely know how you feel...it is my biggest frustration, after the lack of medical support and after-care, that others just cannot (or will not even try to) understand what we have been through. It is definitely a case of ignorance is bliss sometimes, I think some people are too scared to want to hear about it.