Clare new member - Will I ever be the same again??

ClareM

Well here we go with my introduction. My name is Clare I am 55 and live in Portsmouth UK. I work as an Accuracy Checking Pharmacy Technician and I had a NASAH on 10 Feb 2015.

I was out running with a local group when I felt a headache come on (and I never get headaches), it got worse and moved round to my neck. I was with my sister and a friend and when we got to the 2 mile mark I said one of them would have to ring my husband and tell him to come and get me. That never happened as I then started vomiting and collapsed on the ground.

To cut a long story short I was taken to QA hospital Portsmouth where it was discovered I had had a SAH. This happened about 8pm, I was told I needed to go to Wessex Neuro in Southampton but they did not have a bed so I had to wait. I was then moved into a side room as an RTA came in and they needed the space. I don't remember anything of all this except being given morphine and telling them it was '######' and that it didn't work! (That's a pharmacy technician talking!).

Around 4.30am my husband started asking why I hadn't been moved, that's when all of a sudden things happened and I was transferred. Apparently when I got to Southampton I had an intraventricular haemorrhage and hydrocephalus and had to have an EVD inserted. All a bit scary for my husband and sons who were with me.

I don't remember much of anything of my first week at Wessex neuro, apparently I was awake and chatting but mainly rubbish. I was constantly asked by the nursing staff the usual memory questions which I sometimes got right and often wrong! Apparently I told them that the President of America was Barack Obama - well done correct!- then spoiled it by saying he had been to visit me the day before!

I was discharged home 2 weeks after arriving at Wessex told to take it easy, no work for 3 months and no driving until DVLA agreed ok.